India abstains from the UN vote on the Russian invasion during the Ukraine War

On October 15, 2016, at the Taj Exotica hotel in Goa, India's Prime Minister Narendra Modi (R) and Russian Preside...

India has once more chosen not to participate in the UN General Assembly's vote on a resolution denouncing Russia's invasion of Ukraine, which began a year ago.

141 countries supported the proposal, while 32 abstained and seven, including Russia, voted against it.

India reiterated its stance on the invasion, claiming that the only way out was through peaceful dialogue.

Delhi has come under increasing pressure to adopt a strong stance toward Russia.

Numerous nations, including the US and Ukraine, have publicly urged Delhi to "do the right thing" and take a strong stance.

India, however, has defied the pressure and kept up its policy of refraining from making direct criticisms of Russia. It has previously voted against comparable resolutions at both the UNSC and the UNGA.

Since the end of the Cold War, the two nations have had a reliable relationship for many years. Even though its share has decreased in recent years primarily as a result of Delhi's decision to increase domestic defense manufacturing and a widening imports portfolio, Russia remains India's top supplier of weapons.

The two nations have a history of working together diplomatically; for instance, Moscow has vetoed UNSC resolutions pertaining to the disputed Kashmir region.

However, in previous statements on Ukraine, Delhi has emphasized the significance of "the UN Charter, international law, and respect for the sovereignty and territorial integrity of states.".

Ruchira Kamboj, India's permanent representative to the UN, said during the Friday vote that "no solution can ever be achieved at the cost of human lives.".

The UN resolution passed in New York demanded an immediate cease-fire and reiterated support for Ukraine's territorial integrity and sovereignty, rejecting any claims made by Russia to the regions of the country it occupies.

Moscow's parliament approved the illegitimate annexation of four Ukrainian regions in September.

Additionally, the UN urged a halt to hostilities and demanded that "the Russian Federation immediately, completely and unconditionally withdraw all of its military forces from the territory of Ukraine within its internationally recognized borders.".

Along with India, 32 other nations abstained from the vote, including China, Iran, and South Africa.

The seven nations that abstained were Syria, Russia, Belarus, North Korea, Eritrea, Mali, and Nicaragua.

Source link

You've successfully subscribed to NewsNow
Great! Next, complete checkout to get full access to all premium content.
Welcome back! You've successfully signed in.
Unable to sign you in. Please try again.
Success! Your account is fully activated, you now have access to all content.
Error! Stripe checkout failed.
Success! Your billing info is updated.
Billing info update failed.